6 February, 2015 11:29

Last Night at the Annual NACD Meeting!

NACD Appreciation Banquet Honorees
Last night NACD closed out the Annual Meeting with its Appreciation Banquet. The banquet is an opportunity for NACD to recognize the many outstanding individual efforts of conservation leaders from across the country.

The awards kicked off with the presentation of the NCDEA Awards for Outstanding Conservation District Board Member and Outstanding Conservation District Professional Employee. John Finch of Nash Soil and Water Conservation District in North Carolina and retiring Southeast Region Executive Board Member, received the award for outstanding district board member. Peter Vigil of the Taos Soil and Water Conservation District of New Mexico was the award winner for outstanding district employee.

One of the most prestigious awards of the evening is the NACD/NRCS Olin Sims Conservation Leadership Award. This year’s award recipient was Mike Thralls. Thralls was recognized for his superior service to the conservation community in promoting and leading conservation on private lands.

Rounding out the awards ceremony was the presentation of NACD’s top National Awards. The NACD Friend of Conservation award was presented to Charlie Shafer, president of Agri Drain Corporation and longtime supporter of soil and water conservation in Iowa and across the nation. Shafer has supported NACD as an exhibitor at the Conservation Expo, a sponsor of the NACD Annual Meeting, and by serving as the CTIC representative on the NACD Executive Board.

NACD’s Distinguished Service Award went to Don and Mary Jane Spickler. Don sadly passed away in the spring of last year, but his legacy to conservation will long be remembered. Mary Jane accepted the award for her and Don’s lifelong contributions. The Spicklers have been actively involved with conservation districts at the local, state and national level for over 42 years. While Don advanced from serving on his local district board to state and national positions, Mary Jane advanced in her position of involvement alongside Don through the NACD Auxiliary, supporting the soil and water stewardship program and the NACD poster contest. The Spicklers also developed a vision for the National Envirothon which they supported financially and through the dedication of their time and talent.

The final award of the night was the President’s Award which was presented to Tim Palmer. Palmer is an NACD Executive Board Member and farmer from Iowa. Palmer also Vice Chair of Madison County SWCD, NACD CTIC board representative, as well as serving on many other committee memberships within NACD.

Livecast from Tuesday’s General Session and Appreciation Banquet
Tuesday’s General Session and Appreciation Banquet was broadcast live over the internet thanks to Brian Allmer and BARN Media. The events will be archived and available on the BARN Media Livestream page or by visiting NACD’s Annual Meeting page.

NACD Welcomes New Officer Team
The NACD Annual Meeting Appreciation Banquet was capped off with the recognition of outgoing President Earl Garber, recognition of retiring NACD Officers and Executive Board Members, and the installation of new NACD Officers and Executive Board Members.

NACD would like to thank all the retiring Officers and Executive Board Members for their years of service.

The new NACD Officer team was announced with the installment of Lee McDaniel as the new NACD President. Former Second Vice President Brent Van Dyke of New Mexico was elected as First Vice President; former Secretary/Treasurer Dick Went of Rhode Island was elected as Second Vice President; and John McDonald, Executive Board member from Oregon, was elected as Secretary/Treasurer.

Annual Meeting Recap
This year’s Annual Meeting was attended by more than 900 guests. NACD would like to thank the attendees and all the sponsors of this year’s event in New Orleans. A special thank you to our meeting sponsors: Case I-H, Bob Warner, Monsanto, Apache, John Deere, the Maryland Association of Conservation Districts, the U.S. Forest Service, Bayer CropScience, Plum Creek, Verdesian, the USDA Department of Agriculture and NRCS, National Farmers Union, Syngenta, Agri Drain Corporation, and Scotts Miracle-Gro.
See you at the 2016 Annual Meeting in Reno
Please join us for next year’s Annual Meeting event in Reno, Nevada. The 2016 meeting will take place January 30 through February 3 at the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s